Ancestor Circles Summer 2021

Circle Types and Schedules

Circle meetings are every week for 10 weeks, beginning the week of July 26, 2021, through the week of September 27, 2021. Circle meetings are 90 minutes in length and are not recorded. Click on the arrow to see times around the globe and more about the circle leader.

Open to All Ancestor Circle

This is a dedicated space for people of any background to dive into ancestral healing with their personal lineages. Like the more thematic groups, facilitation will be proactively inclusive with respect to gender, race, histories of trauma, cultures of origin, etc.

  • San Francisco – 1pm noon
  • São Paolo – 5pm
  • Berlin – 10pm
  • Johannesburg – 10pm
  • Mumbai – 1:30am Wed
  • Singapore – 4am Wed
  • Melbourne – 6am Wed

Velma E. Love, MDiv., Ph.D.  (Atlanta, GA, USA) engages African spirituality in helping people to create new life stories and participate more fully in cultural healing. She is passionate about healing generational trauma among African Americans and supporting younger visionaries and change-makers. She is descended through the transatlantic slave trade from the Temne of Sierra-Leone, the Balanta of Guinea-Bisseau, and the Makua of Mozambique. Velma is an initiate in the priesthoods of Ọbàtálá and Ọ̀ṣun in the Òrìṣà tradition of Yorùbá peoples through the lineage of Olúwo Fálolú Adésànyà of Òdè Rẹ́mọ, Ogun State, Nigeria. For more info see: www.drvelmalove.com.

  • San Francisco – 5pm noon
  • São Paolo – 9pm
  • Berlin – 2am Wed
  • Johannesburg – 2am Wed
  • Mumbai – 5:30am Wed
  • Singapore – 8am Wed
  • Melbourne – 10am Wed

Erica Nunnally, MA (Providence, RI, USA) is an animist, ritualist, teacher of yogic traditions, Reiki master teacher, and a steward of Earth’s medicines. She was raised in a Christian and military family with a fluid sense of home and shallow connection to roots, and after decades of personal study and reclamation, found home with her ancestors. Erica specializes in supporting folks with limited knowledge of their family and cultural origins but who are called to deep healing and reconnection. Her ancestors are primarily Choctaw, Nansemond, West African, and Irish. For more info see: www.ericanunnally.com.

  • San Francisco – 6am
  • São Paolo – 5pm
  • Berlin – 3pm
  • Johannesburg – 3pm
  • Mumbai – 6:30pm
  • Singapore – 9pm
  • Melbourne – 11pm

Michelle Ayn Tessensohn (Singapore) has over two decades of experience in healing arts and personal development with training in yoga, zen shiatsu, psychospiritual counselling, life coaching, and mindfulness. She has worked with plant medicines and deepened into ritual through diverse earth-honoring traditions. Her interest is in helping others to heal from trauma and embody their gifts, abilities and purpose more fully. She is a fifth-generation Singaporean Eurasian and lives on the ancestral lands of the Orang Laut and Orang Asli. Her ancestors are from Sri Lanka, China, Indonesia, Melanesia, England, Holland, Germany, Ireland, and Portugal. For more info see: www.self-masterycoaching.com.

  • San Francisco – 10am
  • São Paolo – 2pm
  • Berlin – 7pm
  • Johannesburg – 7pm
  • Mumbai – 10:30pm
  • Singapore – 1am Fri
  • Melbourne – 3am Fri

Kirra Swenerton M.S., D.D. (Oakland, CA, USA) is a scientist, healer and artist specializing in restoration ecology and community ritual. Kirra teaches about earth reverence, ethnobotany and ecology and is dedicated to conserving rare species and honoring wild places. She leads devotional rituals for people seeking deeper guidance from nature and their own ancestral roots. Kirra’s ancestors came from the British Isles and Ireland, Armenia and Italy. She is the founder of Root Wisdom, an organization offering nature journeys, environmental consulting, psychedelic integration and ceremonial services based on Ohlone land in Oakland, CA.

  • San Francisco – 10am
  • São Paolo – 2pm
  • Berlin – 7pm
  • Johannesburg – 7pm
  • Mumbai – 10:30pm
  • Singapore – 1am Mon
  • Melbourne – 3am Mon

Shannon Ledford (Asheville, NC, USA) brings flavors from many of her iterations in this lifetime. Her time as a corporate lawyer, global travel photographer and community builder have also shaped her and her work. Her favorite challenge and devotional endeavor is guiding her wise daughter. Shannon finds a sense of true belonging with the ancestors, and is inspired to share that with her daughter and work to create a deep sense of belonging for all of our children. Her people hail from Italy and the British Isles. She lives on the ancestral lands of the Cherokee in NC. To connect visit: www.shannonledford.com.

  • San Francisco – 2am
  • New York – 5am
  • São Paolo – 6am
  • Berlin – 11am
  • Johannesburg –11am
  • Mumbai – 2:30pm
  • Singapore – 5pm

Hazel Volk (Aldinga, SA, Australia) is dedicated to earth protection and social change. For years she has worked with non-profits using photography, design, and communication skills to educate and inspire. Hazel holds a generous and heart-centered space to re-member and explore soul depths, and she is passionate about ancestry research, psychogenealogy and helping people to bring alive the emotional and psychological aspects of their ancestry. Born and raised in France, her people are Gauls, Belgae, Danes and Franks. She now lives on the traditional lands of the Kaurna people. Séances en Anglais et Français. www.deeproots.com.au.

BIPOC Ancestor Circle

This is a dedicated space for international participants who are Black, Indigenous, and People of Color. Gatherings will be held in a kind and inclusive way, including for any white-presenting Indigenous folks who are called to join.

  • San Francisco – 6pm
  • São Paolo – 10pm
  • Berlin – 3am Wed
  • Johannesburg – 3am Wed
  • Mumbai – 6:30am Wed
  • Singapore – 9am Wed
  • Melbourne – 11am Wed

Chi Young Kim (Ashland, OR, USA) is dedicated to helping people remember purpose through reclaiming their relationships with their ancestors and the living Earth. All her recent ancestors are from Korea, and as a Korean-American woman she has learned to bridge multiple cultural realities and identities. She lives on the ancestral lands of Takelma, Shasta, and other Native peoples and works as a grief counselor supporting individuals and groups to embrace the transformative potency of loss toward a more authentic life. Her approach to ancestral healing and reconnection is grounded, culturally-mindful, and compassionate. For more info see: www.rememberingvoice.com.

LGBTQ+ Ancestor Circle

This is a dedicated space for folks who are Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Intersex, Gender Nonconforming, or otherwise find meaningful belonging and inclusion under the umbrella of LGBTQ+.

  • San Francisco – 1pm noon
  • São Paolo – 5pm
  • Berlin – 10pm
  • Johannesburg – 10pm
  • Mumbai – 1:30am Fri
  • Singapore – 4am Fri
  • Melbourne – 6am Fri

Vanessa Radman (San Francisco, CA, USA) is a queer intuitive healer, animist ritualist, and artist dedicated to collective liberation. She supports those seeking to navigate healthy relationship to their ancestors and the living earth.  Her trauma-informed, intersectional feminist approach acknowledges the innate wisdom of each person’s journey and is grounded by her training in traditional folk herbalism, flower essences, spirit medicine and navigating the wild untameable magick of the heart. Her ancestors are most recently from Northern Ireland, Southern Italy and the Dalmatian coast (Croatia). She is grateful to live on Yelamu Ohlone land. To find out more: cimarutahealing@gmail.com.

Ancestor Circle for Women

This is a dedicated space for women of diverse bodies, ancestries, ages, places of origin, and life experiences. Trans, queer, and gender nonconforming women warmly welcome

  • San Francisco – 10am
  • São Paolo – 2pm
  • Berlin – 7pm
  • Johannesburg – 7pm
  • Mumbai – 10:30pm
  • Singapore – 1am Fri
  • Melbourne – 3am Fri

Larisa Noonan (Salem, OR, USA) grew up afraid of burning in Hell. Now she spends her days working with witchy healers who grew up, as she did, in fundamentalist Christian homes. She has specialized for nearly two decades in trauma healing, embodiment skills, and supporting healthy boundaries and is passionate about ancestral healing and supporting those in recovery from religious fundamentalism. Larisa lives with her husband and son in Oregon’s Willamette Valley on the ancestral homelands of the Kalapuya. Her ancestors are from France, the Netherlands via Ukraine, Germany, and Switzerland. She no longer fears burning in Hell. For more info: www.larisanoonan.com.

Ancestor Circle for Men

This is a dedicated space for men of diverse bodies, ancestries, ages, places of origin, and life experiences. Trans, queer, and gender nonconforming men are warmly welcome.

  • San Francisco – 1pm noon
  • São Paolo – 5pm
  • Berlin – 10pm
  • Johannesburg – 10pm
  • Mumbai – 1:30am Wed
  • Singapore – 4am Wed
  • Melbourne – 6am Wed

Adrián Villaseñor-Galarza, PhD (Guadalajara, México & Fresno, CA, USA) is passionate about human transformation in service to the living Earth. He devoted his PhD research to the confluence of Eastern liberation teachings and the human-nature connection, resulting in an elemental framework for self-discovery, healing, and sustainable action. His ancestors are primarily from the Iberian Peninsula (Spanish & Portuguese) and pre-hispanic México (Nahua, Purépecha, and Nahua-Otomí). Adrián’s service is rooted in his direct experiences with wisdom lineages that he’s honored since his teens. Gracias a su legado bi/poli-cultural, realiza su trabajo y servicio en Español e Inglés. For more info see: www.living-flames.com.

Ancestor Circle for Parents

This is a dedicated space for people of any gender currently living the realities of parenting in a major way. Although participants are likely parenting younger children, all dedicated caregivers are warmly welcome.

  • San Francisco – 1pm noon
  • São Paolo – 5pm
  • Berlin – 10pm
  • Johannesburg – 10pm
  • Mumbai – 1:30am Wed
  • Singapore – 4am Wed
  • Melbourne – 6am Wed

Sarah Foor, MFT (Asheville, NC, USA) has served diverse populations as a counselor in public schools, hospital settings, and through intensive family therapy. She completed the Hakomi Method two-year training and has also worked as a massage therapist. She is an initiate in the Ifá/Òrìṣà tradition of Yorùbá-speaking West Africa in the lineage of Olúwo Fálolú Adésànyà, and has made several training pilgrimages to Nigeria. Her people are earlier settlers to North America from the British Isles, Germany, and France. Her spiritual practice is rooted in respect for the body, the sacred feminine, and the natural world. For more info: www.samarahealing.com.

Dreaming With the Dead (Sold Out)

This is a dedicated space for those interested in the intersection of ancestral healing and connection with our departed kin in dreams. As with other circles, time will focus on ritual healing and tending with the dead.

*This circle was previously stated to be happening at 1pm US Eastern on Sundays. We apologize for the mistake – it is actually Thursdays at 4pm. 

  • San Francisco – 1pm noon
  • São Paolo – 5pm
  • Berlin – 10pm
  • Johannesburg – 10pm
  • Mumbai – 1:30am Wed
  • Singapore – 4am Wed
  • Melbourne – 6am Wed

Shannon Willis, M.Ed (Athens, GA, USA) holds an MA in Professional Leadership and Counseling from Louisiana State University in Monroe and has worked for over twenty years with depression, anxiety, PTSD, chronic pain and illness, grief, dreams, and social justice issues related to intimate partner violence and the oppression of marginalized populations. She holds space in Athens, GA as a ritualist, healer, and catalyst for Earth-honoring community, drawing inspiration from teachers in West African traditions, Nepali shamanism, diverse indigenous paths, and northern European cultures. Her people hail from the British Isles, France, and Cherokee and Kaskaskia/Illiniwek nations. For more info see: www.redearthhealing.org.

Ancestral Song and Voice Circle (Sold Out)

This is a dedicated space for those interested in traditional and original songs, channeled tones, healing of vocal/musical wounds, creative vocal flow, and the many ways that singing and vocal presence can support ancestral reconnection.

  • San Francisco – 10am
  • São Paolo – 2pm
  • Berlin – 7pm
  • Johannesburg – 7pm
  • Mumbai – 10:30pm
  • Singapore – 1am Mon
  • Melbourne – 3am Mon

Laura Sandage, BM, MA (Davis, CA, USA) is a community arts leader, performer, and ritualist. Her life’s work is healing self and others through creativity, and her spiritual home is the community-built Earth Chapel in her backyard. Embodied song-as-ritual is a current passion, fed by decades devoted to music, literature, writing, theater, and art. Her ancestral healing work and the circles she tends are infused with playful wonder, trauma sensitivity, and a clear imperative to respect all beings. Her Old Ones are Viking, Sami, Pict, Welsh, and Gallic, and her husband is Punjabi Sikh. Find her at ancestralarts.org and laurasandage.com.

Registration is closed.

Translate